According to legend, sea nymphs called Nereides used to gather on a high cliff above this beach and comb their hair with coral brushes. Their laughter and singing could be heard far away, but it was forbidden to speak about this, because if one did, one would be struck dumb.
It is situated in the vicinity of Canj, at its very north. This small but attractive beach can be approached only from the sea.It is surronded with sediment cliffs. Because of its environment, fine sand and crystal clear sea water, it was the favorite beach of queen Milena when she was came to vacation at Topolica castle.
Throughout the history this region was a confluence of different civilization, which left a strong impact on its rich cultural and historical heritage. On the islands in the Skadar Lake, among birds and water-lilies many monasteries can be found. The oldest monastery- Starčevo, was founded in the XIV century by the humble ascetic, old man Makarije, after whom the island was named Starčeva gorica. On the shores of the lake there are two small towns–old urban settlements, with specific architecture – Virpazar and Rijeka Crnojevića. Both settlements are nowadays famous for its restaurants that offer traditional specialties. Southern hinterland of the lake (Crmnica) is famous for the best vine in Montenegro. Together with the lake carp, this will satisfy even the most demanding lovers of good food and drinks. The lake has numerous extraordinary beaches, particularly those in the village Murići, not less attractive than beaches on the coast...
Today the castle is more of a museum building. In the castle park there is a train called "Ćiro" with two locomotives and two carriages, of which one was a saloon carriage for the royal family, as a reminder of the Bar-Virpazar railway that started functioning in 1908. That was the first railway in Montenegro, extending 43 km and passing through a tunnel that was 1,969 m long. This railway remained in service until 1959.Here there is also a hothouse, constructed of rust-proof materials, which was a gift of the Italian King Emanuel, and today serves as a hostelry known as "The Prince's Garden".
Several buildings such as: the steam bath, the powder magazine and the Clock Tower were built in the Ottoman era as well as the aqueduct which supplied the Old Town of Bar with drinking water.The Old Town also hosts a few remnants of sacred buildings from the Middle Ages as follows: St. Theodora’s Church (later St. George’s Church), St. Nicholas Church (later St. Mark’s Church), St. Veneranda’s Church and St. Catherina’s Church.Position of the Old Town of Bar offers the visitors the opportunity to see from the old ramparts walls a beautiful panorama of the green valley of Bar, the new part of the town, the port, open seas and massif of the mountain of Rumija. A special attraction of the Old Town of Bar is its farmers’ market (pjaca) where sellers dressed in traditional costumes of this region offer their customers local products such as: citrus fruits, olives, olive oil from the area of Bar, cheese and a variety of local handicrafts.